Tags

, , , , , , ,

The day started out a little overcast and I was worried because I had planned a day with my boyfriend at the coast – a celebration of sorts.  You never know what the beach will look like because it can be cloudy and overcast in town and sunny at the coast or dark and gloomy.  It didn’t matter, I had made up my mind I was going and nothing was going to stop me. We headed West from Santa Rosa out Highway 12 towards Bodega Bay.  Suddenly, I saw the Bohemian Highway and told my boyfriend, turn right.  At the corner of the Bohemian Highway is a delightful little store that I love to stop by and see all the new treasures.  It was closed!  Next store is an amazing bakery http://www.wildflourbread.com.  It was closed! Drats I’m thinking why are they closed? Turns out that they are closed on Thursday to get ready for the weekend. A little farther down the road is a wonderful sanctuary named Osmosis Day Spa www.osmosis.com.  One of my very favorite places to go.  We stop in and I ask if I can show my boyfriend the meditation garden.  They said “of course.”  I have had many a massage there and after I go sit in the meditation garden.  It truly is amazing and if you haven’t been there you have to go. Next stop was the Freestone Artisan Cheese Shop. http://www.freestoneartisan.com.  We tasted some cheese and decided to take some cheese and salami with us.  Now to find some bread.  We drove down the road a little way to purchase some bread at the market across the street from Negris.  http://www.negrisrestaurant.com.  Negris is in the town of Occidental and serves Italian food in the family tradition. Now we were ready to head to the coast via Coleman Valley Road.  That road takes your around and up the mountain and drops you down to a breathtaking view of the ocean.  Along the way we saw wildflowers, cows, sheep and green rolling hills.  We arrived at the main road (at the bottom of Coleman Valley Road) and turned left to go towards Salmon Creek Beach.  There we parked and ate our cheese, salami and bread and then took a walk on the beach.  The sun was shining and the waves were crashing.  We saw young girls in shorts,  a family digging a hole (they brought their own shovel), and of course pigeons.  As we were leaving we saw a young man ready to launch his kite into the wind.

Spud Point Crab Company

Best Clam Chowder

Our last stop was for clam chowder.  There certainly is no shortage of that at Bodega Bay.  However, one of my favorites is Spud Point Crab Company http://www.spudpointcrab.com.  It is a little hole in the wall at Spud Point Marina – heading towards Bodega Head.  The clam chowder is to die for. We were so full we could hardly move!  We had a wonderful day at the coast and headed home to take a nap.